Planning

When I say gardening, I mean vegetables.  I intend to include fruit and a little about flowers here, but my main interest is vegetables.

My vegetable garden consists of four raised beds.  Each bed is planted with related vegetables (and a few herbs).  Every year, I plant each bed with a different family of vegetables (crop rotation) to try to break disease and pest cycles.  In such a small space, this may not be all that effective.

The four beds this year, from the back of the garden, will have:

Four:  cabbage family, including cabbages, radishes, cauliflowers, kale, and mustard greens

Three:  tomatoes, eggplant, and peppers

Two:  beans and peas on a shared trellis, and annual herbs including basil, cilantro, and marjoram

One:  everything else; okra, chard, beets, carrots, onions, and lettuce

You may notice that there are no cucurbits (squash, melon, or cucumber).  This is because those crops succumb to disease in my garden every year and I am taking a break from trying to grow them.

The next step is to determine which seeds I need to order.  Since I keep seeds in the refrigerator, they remain viable for several years.  I need to go through my collection of seeds and find which are in short (or no) supply.  I also like to check the seed catalogs for new varieties that might work well for me.

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in garden preparation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Planning

  1. Pingback: Planting 05: Chard, Onions, Beets, Lettuce, Carrots | gardenblog2013

  2. Pingback: A New Beginning | gardenblog2013

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

