Spring Cleanup

With the nice weather this weekend, I got my bicycle tuned up and rode it a little.  But I also started the spring cleanup of the vegetable garden beds.

At the end of the growing season, I leave the garden pretty much as it is.  This is partly because the colder weather and shorter days make it more difficult to get motivated to do any work in the garden, but also because I’ve read that leaving some cover for the “good bugs” over the winter will help them survive for the next year.  “Good bugs” refers to the insects, spiders, etc. that will pollinate my fruits and vegetables, or feed on the insects that eat my plants.  I certainly want to keep them around.

As spring weather warms up, it’s time to clean out the garden beds and prepare them.  I started with bed number two, which held tomato, eggplant, and pepper plants last year.  This year, it will have peas and beans, so I need to get it ready so that I can move the trellis on which those vegetables will grow.

I removed the old plants and moved them to my compost pile with the wheelbarrow.

cleanup01

I also removed the cages and cleaned them up.  The cages in the left foreground in the photo above are some that I bought but found to be too small for my tomato plants; however they are fine for the eggplant and pepper plants.  The tomato cages are still in the bed in this photo and they still have tomato vines hanging on them.  Those cages are homemade; I’ll describe them further when it’s time to place them around this year’s tomato plants.

Last year’s kale (in bed number three) is still green and growing.

kale01

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in garden preparation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring Cleanup

  1. Pingback: Preparing a Garden Bed | gardenblog2013

  2. Pingback: More Cleanup & a Surprise | gardenblog2013

  3. Pingback: Preparing Garden Bed Number One | gardenblog2013

  4. Pingback: Garden Cleanup and Rabbits | gardenblog2013

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

