Snow & Marigolds

Saturday’s snow had mostly melted, so of course we got few more inches of snow today.  The garden in snow:

garden_snow

You can make out the four raised beds; on the right are the tomato, pepper, and eggplant cages that I removed from the 2nd bed; the legume trellis is still in the 1st bed; the blackberry trellis is in front of the 1st bed; and the peach tree is to its right.

I forgot to plant one thing on Friday.   Marigold ‘golden guardian’ are supposed to kill harmful nematodes that feed on the roots of vegetables, especially tomatoes.  I’m not sure if I actually have problems caused by nematodes, but this is an easy precaution to take.  I planted some last year, too many as it turned out; they took over part of the garden.  You can see them here.  I decided to plant only one pot today.  I’ll transplant them into the middle of my six tomato “hills” when it is much warmer!

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in flower, fruit, planting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Snow & Marigolds

  1. Pingback: The Garden in Snow | gardenblog2013

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

