Planting 08: Okra, Morning Glory, Moonflower, and Parsnips

This evening, I planted some seeds in garden bed number one.  I prepared the morning glory, moonflower, and parsnip seeds by putting them in water last night to soak.  The seed packets say that soaking these seeds will help them to germinate.  Moonflower is a fragrant relative of morning glory that blooms in the evening.  In this photo, ‘Grandpa Otts’ morning glory seeds are on the left and the white moonflower seeds are on the right.  This was taken before they were soaked.

morning_glory01

‘Grandpa Otts’ morning glory seeds on the left & moonflower seeds on the right

Before I could plant, I had to make some clearings in the forest of dill, cilantro, shiso, and other “volunteer” plants that have come up in this garden bed.  We saved a lot of the dill and cilantro to eat.  I planted six Cajun delight okra seeds in each of three holes, about an inch (25 mm) deep and watered them well.  I cut off the bottoms of some plastic one gallon (4 liter) milk jugs and placed those around the okra seeds to protect the seedlings when they come up.

okra01

The three (bottomless) milk jugs will protect the okra seedlings after they emerge. Dill, cilantro, and shiso “volunteer” seedlings surround them.

Last year, I started my okra seeds indoors, like I do with peppers and tomatoes.  One of my pots of okra seedlings died before I could transplant them, so I planted some seeds directly into the garden.  Something (probably a rabbit) ate those okra seedlings (but not the transplanted okra), so I planted once again and protected them with a milk jug like I am doing this year.   Those okra plants that were planted directly in the garden produced about as well (and as early) as the seedlings that I started indoors, so I decided to plant all my okra directly into the garden this year.

I planted a dozen each of morning glory and moonflower seeds in a circle in a large hole.  Since I soaked the seeds overnight, I didn’t have the seed packets with me in the garden to consult, and I may have planted the seeds a little too deeply.  I decided to plant these flowers in the vegetable garden because they are some of my favorites and I had a little extra space in garden bed number one.  I put a tomato cage around the place where I planted them to give the vines something to climb.

Finally, I planted a short row of Harris model parsnips, about a half inch (12 mm) deep and an inch (25 mm) apart.  These seeds are small and flat; when wet, they stick to each other and to my fingers, making them difficult to plant.  I’ll think twice about soaking parsnips if I plant them again.

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in flower, planting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Planting 08: Okra, Morning Glory, Moonflower, and Parsnips

  1. Pingback: Flowering Peppers, Rabbits, Tomatoes and Marigolds | gardenblog2013

  2. Pingback: Thinning Cabbages and Weeding | gardenblog2013

  3. Pingback: Okra & Morning Glory | gardenblog2013

  4. Pingback: Guest Garden | gardenblog2013

  5. Pingback: Summer Flowers 04 | gardenblog2013

  6. Pingback: Beans, Peppers, Tomatoes, & Blackberries | gardenblog2013

  7. Pingback: Fall Flowers & Foliage | gardenblog2013

  8. Pingback: Morning Glory Vines, Bean Flowers, & Herbs | gardenblog2013

  9. Pingback: Transplanting Okra | gardenblog2013

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

