Thinning Cabbages and Weeding

When I transplanted the pak choi and asian cabbages, all but one of the peat pots had two plants growing in them.  They’ve grown too large to coexist, so today I removed the smaller cabbage of each pair.  I’ve just started the thinning process in this photo.

cabbage10

The small, blue-handled garden shears work well for cutting off the cabbages and also for harvesting vegetables like eggplant and peppers.  I cut off the cabbages rather than pull them out so that I wouldn’t disturb the roots of the cabbages that remain.  We ate some of the cabbage tonight.  In the next photo, I’ve finished the job.  We’ve also been eating radishes and some of the fun jen pai tsai and mustard greens growing in this garden bed.

cabbage11

I also got caught up on some weeding today.  In garden bed number one, I continued pulling the volunteer plants that are growing among the planted vegetables.  I did leave some dill, cilantro, tomatillo, and shiso plants that weren’t too close to the other plants.  I saved some of the dill and cilantro that I pulled to eat; we coated our beef with dill before roasting it in the smoker tonight (it didn’t contribute much to the flavor however) and ate some dill with cucumber (that was good).  I also pulled some weeds that were growing next to the peas.

The pole beans that I planted eleven days ago are starting to come up.  So are the okra and the mixed morning glory and moonflowers that I planted just six days ago.  The parsnips haven’t yet made an appearance.

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in growing, harvest and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thinning Cabbages and Weeding

  1. Your vegetables look amazing. Are those purple bok choy? They look stunning! I’ll have to try growing those.

    • Yes, they are purple bok choy (although the approved spelling seems to be pak choi these days). This is the first time I’ve planted them. Unfortunately, they turn green when you cook them.

  2. Pingback: Beans, Basil, & Tomatillo | gardenblog2013

  3. Pingback: Tomatillo Salsa Verde | gardenblog2013

  4. Pingback: Transplanting Kale, Cabbages, & Cauliflower | gardenblog2013

  5. Pingback: Basil Seedlings | gardenblog2013

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

