Smoked Pork Roast

In the tradition of the Labor Day (holiday, first Monday in September in the U.S.A.) barbecue, today I cooked a piece of boneless pork loin roast (about 3 lb. or 1.4 kg) on my smoker.  What does this have to do with gardening?  Well, I don’t raise pigs in my garden, but I used the pruned branches from my cherry and peach trees as the source of smoke in my smoker.  These produce a sweet-tasting smoke.  I soak the cherry or peach branches in water for a half hour to an hour so they produce smoke rather than just burning.  The cooking heat comes from charcoal briquettes.

My Weber Smoky Mountain Cooker™ is about a decade old.

smoker01

I always use a temperature probe to be sure that the meat is fully cooked.  The shovel is holding the door against the smoker as it no longer fits tightly.

If you look carefully, you can see a pink ring about 3 mm (1/8 inch) thick around the cut edge of the meat.  This is caused by a reaction between the meat and the smoke.

pork01

The surface of the pork is covered with my version of barbecue sauce.  We coat the meat with it at least a couple hours before putting the meat in the smoker.  Just mix the following ingredients together:

  • 4 Tbs. (60 ml) ketchup
  • 2 Tbs. (30 ml) brown sugar
  • 2 Tbs. (30 ml) vinegar
  • 2 Tbs. (30 ml) hoisin sauce
  • 2 tsp. (10 ml) Sriracha hot chili sauce from Huy Fong Foods (a.k.a. rooster sauce)
About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in fruit, recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Smoked Pork Roast

  1. That looks gooood!! I have the same smoker and mine is older than yours! But, I do have cherry and peach trees. They haven’t given me a single fruit in all the years I have them, so it’s good to know they’re useful for other things.

    • No fruit?! That’s a shame. Do you know what varieties they are? If you search my blog, you can find what I do with these fruit trees (not a lot, but pruning is critical). Also check the Penn State website from the link in my Resources page.

      • The peach is Flat Wonderful, about 4/5 yrs old. Oh, it’s been fruiting, just never ripening. After an exhaustive research, I found out it suffers from brown rot. I might do something about it next year, but I hate spraying. The tree is pretty, red leaves with pink flowers, so it’s not a total loss.The cherry is Black Tartarian, and I need another variety for proper pollination.

      • I’ve been lucky and never had to deal with a serious problem like your peach has. My cherry tree is a pie cherry, so it’s self-fruitful. Pie cherries I think have fewer problems in general than sweet cherries.

  2. Pingback: Pruning Cherry & Peach Trees and Caring for Seedlings | gardenblog2013

  3. Pingback: Beef Roast | gardenblog2013

  4. Pingback: Pruning & More Pruning | gardenblog2013

  5. Pingback: Bloomin’ Cherry Tree | gardenblog2013

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

