Pineapple Is Ripening!

Back in March, I posted about one of my pineapple houseplants that was flowering.  I promised updates, but haven’t done so, other than adding a couple more photos to my Google+ album.  That’s largely because there hasn’t been much visible change to the pineapple fruit.  I think it has gotten heavier, because the stalk has bent farther and farther down and the bamboo sticks I used to hold it no longer help.

Now, the fruit is turning yellow and I can just detect a faint scent of ripe pineapple.  The fact that it’s almost completely upside-down doesn’t seem to affect it.

pineapple05

Note that the fruit is much smaller than a pineapple that you’d buy in a store.  This isn’t about growing pineapple to eat (although I fully intend to eat this one!); it’s about having fun gardening.

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in fruit, houseplant, photo album link and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pineapple Is Ripening!

  1. Pingback: Petite Pineapple | gardenblog2013

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

