Petite Pineapple

One of my pineapple plants flowered back in March.  I moved it outside with the other houseplants in June, and it’s been developing a fruit all summer.  The fruit recently began to turn yellow.  On Thursday (September 12th) I tried to check if it smelled ripe and broke the stem.  Luckily, it was ripe.  It looks pretty funny with what seems like two tops.  The leaves on the right are the top; it looks like it was growing a new stem just below the fruit as well.  The leaves are at an angle because the weight of the fruit made the stem droop.  I saved both ends and may try planting them.

pineapple06

Tonight, we decided to eat the fruit.  I broke off the stem and cut off the top.  The fruit was only 3 1/2  by 4 inches (9 by 10 cm).

pineapple07

We proceeded to cut the pineapple into eighths and removed the core and the skin.  The usable fruit weighed only 300 grams (10.5 oz.).

pineapple08

I sautéed the pineapple in about a tablespoon of butter, put it on vanilla ice cream, and poured some rum sauce over it.  Below is my portion, melting while I take its photo.  The sacrifices I make for this blog!

pineapple09

Rum sauce:

  • 1 Tbs. (15 ml) butter
  • 2 Tbs. (30 ml) dark rum
  • 1/4 cup (60 ml) brown sugar

Heat all three ingredients in a small pan until the sugar dissolves.

 

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in fruit, harvest, houseplant, recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Petite Pineapple

  1. Yeah, but how did it taste? Looks sweet and juicy from the photos. Is it worth it? Growing it, I mean. How long did it take to fruit? I actually had one rooting in the summer (just stuck a head in the ground) but had to move around some plants and it became a casualty.

    • It was good, of course! I think pineapples get sweeter if you leave them on the plant, which I could do since I didn’t have to ship it thousands of miles. It’s easy to do, just stick the top of a pineapple in the soil like you did, but this one took 5 years (see https://brianbreczinski.wordpress.com/2013/03/15/pineapple/). It grew from the top of the first pineapple fruit I grew. Of course, they can’t survive winters, so I have to bring them in every fall. Not at all worth it from the point of growing your own fruit, but a fun experiment. Oh, and the leaves are quite sharp.

  2. Pingback: Pawpaw | gardenblog2013

  3. Pingback: Houseplant Moving (In) Day | gardenblog2013

  4. Pingback: Planting a Pineapple | gardenblog2013

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

