Cabbages & Carrots

We continued to harvest carrots into the fall; these are from mid-November.  The frost doesn’t seem to affect them.  I’ve found carrots in the spring when I dug up the garden bed that were good to eat.

carrots_cabbages01

When I planted garden bed number one in April, I planted some unknown seeds that turned out to be cabbage.  I transplanted them at the end of July to give them a little more space, and they produced these small heads.  They actually did pretty well considering the army of slugs and small white cabbage butterfly larvae that were eating them.

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in harvest and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cabbages & Carrots

  1. Found carrots, too! The size of baby’s fingers! Is it possible to lose one’s capability to grow carrots? I used to grow normal-sized carrots, now not anymore. — Angie.

    • I find that if I can get the carrots to germinate, they grow pretty well. Overcrowding could be a problem, I guess (they don’t germinate, so you plant a lot of seeds, and they ALL come up). I think carrots (and all root crops) like soft soil, so if you have heavy clay like I do, it seems to result in short but chubby carrots, like you see in the picture. I also get some damage from wireworms (click beetle larvae) or something like that, but that is pretty obvious as the carrots have channels chewed in the roots. I also see that in radishes.

  2. Pingback: More Carrots | gardenblog2013

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

