Planting, Finally!

Off to a very late start compared to last year.  In fact, I had already planted peas outside by this time last year.  Although the snow is gone, the rain has left the garden too soggy to work the soil, and anyway it’s been too cold for seeds to sprout.  That’s no excuse for being so late to start seeds indoors though.

Tonight, I planted seeds for my early tomatoes, peppers, and eggplant as well as asian cabbages (heading and pak choi), kale, and cauliflower.  These are all the same varieties as last year and if you want details about how I planted them and a photo, see last years posts for early tomato, pepper, and eggplant or for the asian cabbages.  I also planted kale and cauliflower seeds; last year, I tried planting these in late summer but they didn’t grow well, so this year I’ll plant them in the spring and see if it works better.  The cabbage family vegetables will be in the largest garden bed this year, so I should have enough space.

My daughter has been so busy with homework this year (apparently her teachers think that if one assignment is good, ten must be ten times better) that she couldn’t help me plant.  That’s a little worrying as seeds seem to germinate better when she plants them.

 

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in planting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Planting, Finally!

  1. Hilda says:

    You’re way ahead of us. My seeds are all under lights in the basement, and it will be a long time before I get them outdoors. Our growing season is so short, this does not bode well. Strangely enough, the okra seems to be the happiest in the basement – the others are slow. I am also going to plant peanuts when the ground is dry enough – a first for me.

    • When it comes time to transplant those seedlings, you’ll probably be ahead of me. Don’t peanuts take a long time to grow? I guess I assumed that because they grow them in southern US states. I grow okra too but I’m not sure if starting it indoors makes a difference, at least it didn’t seem to a couple of years ago when I had some transplants fail and planted their replacements directly in the garden.

  2. See ya later, snow! I’ll bet you’re thrilled!!!

  3. Pingback: Planting Herbs & More Tomatoes | gardenblog2013

  4. Pingback: Pepper Seedlings | gardenblog2013

  5. Pingback: Planting Cabbage Greens & Roots | gardenblog2013

  6. Pingback: Cabbages Move Outside | gardenblog2013

  7. Pingback: Transplanting Kale, Cabbages, & Cauliflower | gardenblog2013

  8. Pingback: Tomatoes Move Outside | gardenblog2013

  9. Pingback: Tomatoes Move Outside | gardenblog2013

  10. Pingback: Transplanting Peppers & Eggplant | gardenblog2013

  11. Pingback: Cabbages, Greens, & Radishes | gardenblog2013

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

