Lemon Fruit & Flowers

My lemon tree has one fruit that formed last summer but hasn’t fully ripened.  I judge the fruit to be ripe when it falls off the tree.  It doesn’t become bright yellow like the lemons you see in a grocery store.

ripening lemon fruit

ripening lemon fruit

It produces flowers several times during the year.  Over the past month, there have been many flowers, more than usual.

lemon07

lemon flower

I’ve started using a camera with a larger sensor.  This limits the depth of field in my macro photos, but provides a longer distance between lens and subject, so I no longer have to fight my shadow when taking closeup photos.

Below, you can see the fruit forming inside the spent flower.  Most of these drop off the tree after several days.

spent lemon flower and buds

spent lemon flower and buds

My lemon tree set a fruit during this past winter.  It’s never done that before.  I’m not sure if it’s getting more light, or perhaps I’m giving it the proper amount of water.  Since over watering leads to puddles on the floor, I give large plants like this only a quart of water at a time, once or twice a day.  When I see water in the tray under the pot, I stop giving them water for a week to ten days, then repeat the process.

new lemon fruit

new lemon fruit

The remains of the flower is hanging off the end of the lemon fruit.

 

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in fruit, houseplant and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lemon Fruit & Flowers

  1. Pingback: Lemon Fruit & Flowers, Summer 2014 | gardenblog2013

  2. Pingback: Lemon is Ripe | gardenblog2013

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

