Planting Cabbage Greens & Roots

Tonight, I planted several cabbage greens and some cabbage family root crops in garden bed number one.  Since I had already dug the bed, I only had to rake it smooth and make a rim around the outside, then add about 4 pounds (2 kg) of 10-10-10 fertilizer and a couple of pounds (1 kg) of lime.  The lime serves two purposes:  it will raise the pH and help prevent clubroot disease in my cabbages this year; next year it will provide calcium for the tomatoes that will be growing here and help prevent blossom end rot.

I estimated how much space the kale, cauliflower, and Asian cabbage plants will need when I transplant them later, then divided the remaining space into four rows and further divided each row into two sections to allow for the eight different seeds that I planted.  I planted 2 root vegetables, daikon ‘minowase’ and turnip ‘hakurei;’ five greens, mustard ‘red giant indian,’ komatsuna, mizuna ‘Kyoto,’ mibuna, fun jen pai tsai; and mitsuba.

All but the last of these are in the cabbage family.  It was obvious when I saw the seed that mitsuba isn’t a Brassica.  It’s actually a member of the Apiaceae family, which includes carrots, parsley, cilantro/coriander, dill, and parsnips.  Mitsuba is used as an herb, not a green vegetable.  I should have planted it in the second garden bed with its relatives.  Oh well, there’s always next year.

seeds of cabbage 'optiko,' mitsuba, and flat leaf parsley

seeds of cabbage ‘optiko,’ mitsuba, and flat leaf parsley

I also planted a row of radish ‘cherry belle’ in between where I expect to transplant the kale and some cabbage.  By the time the other plants need the space, we will have harvested the radishes.  Interplanting helps make the most efficient use of my limited garden space.

After I finished, I watered the rows thoroughly with a sprinkler can.  I also watered the onions we planted and transplanted earlier this week and the peas, which are just starting to come up.

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in planting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Planting Cabbage Greens & Roots

  1. Pingback: Pruning Cherry & Peach Trees and Caring for Seedlings | gardenblog2013

  2. Pingback: Transplanting Kale, Cabbages, & Cauliflower | gardenblog2013

  3. Pingback: Cabbage Greens & Roots Seedlings & Failures | gardenblog2013

  4. Pingback: Radishes & Other Cabbage Family Plants | gardenblog2013

  5. Pingback: Cabbages, Greens, & Radishes | gardenblog2013

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

