Cabbages Move Outside

I did some mowing, pruning, and weeding last weekend.  I also set up my cold frame in the old herb patch.  This is mostly overrun with oregano and garlic chives (and weeds), so I didn’t need to be too careful about where I put the cold frame.  It would have been easier to set up if the ground were flat.

cold frame with cabbage, kale, and cauliflower seedlings among the garlic chives

cold frame with cabbage, kale, and cauliflower seedlings among the garlic chives

Late this afternoon, after the cold frame had warmed in the sun, I moved the cabbage, kale, and cauliflower seedlings into it.  I’ll close the lid when it is cold out, and open it (as in the photo) if it gets too warm.  I’ll leave these seedlings in the cold frame for a few days to acclimate to the temperature swings and bright sunlight before I transplant them.

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in growing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cabbages Move Outside

  1. Pingback: Transplanting Kale, Cabbages, & Cauliflower | gardenblog2013

  2. Pingback: The Garden in Snow | gardenblog2013

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

