Transplanting Peppers & Eggplant

This evening, I transplanted my pepper and eggplant seedlings into garden bed number four, following the same procedure as when I transplanted the tomatoes.

I had my daughter cut X-shaped holes in the landscape fabric, then I folded the flaps under, and dug an appropriately sized hole.  I slid a plant label around the inside of the plastic pot, then slipped the plants out and placed them in the hole.  If there were a lot of roots growing around the outside of the root ball, I tried to untangle them with my fingers.

After all the seedlings were in the ground, I watered them well with my usual mix of soluble fertilizer.  The fertilizer provides nutrients while the plants are getting over the shock of having their roots disturbed and are establishing themselves in their new home.

peppers on the sides and eggplant in the middle, after transplanting and watering

peppers on the sides and eggplant in the middle, after transplanting and watering

If you look closely at the photo above (you can click on the photo to expand it), you can just see a marigold flower in front of the orange, plastic bags that were protecting the early tomatoes.

After watering the peppers and eggplant, I sprinkled some slug bait around them.  In the past, some of my pepper plants were destroyed by slugs.  Then, we moved the water jackets from the tomatoes to the newly transplanted seedlings and installed cages around the tomatoes.

pepper and eggplant seedlings in water jackets, tomatoes in cages

pepper and eggplant seedlings in water jackets, tomatoes in cages

The cages are tied to electric fence posts with orange twine to keep them in place.  After the tomatoes grew up and out of the cages in past years, wind blew the whole structure over if the posts weren’t there.

 

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in transplanting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Transplanting Peppers & Eggplant

  1. Pingback: Beans Are Up; Peas & Sage Are Blooming. | gardenblog2013

  2. Pingback: First Eggplant (and a recipe) | gardenblog2013

  3. Pingback: Transplanting Peppers, Eggplant, & Marigolds | gardenblog2013

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

