Weeding & Mulching

We’ve been spending the last few weeks removing weeds from landscape beds in our yard and applying leaf mulch.  I posted about leaf mulch last year, but we ran out of time last fall and weren’t able to mulch everywhere that needed it.  As a result, a lot of weeds grew in some beds.

I didn’t keep the weeds pulled over the summer and now I’m paying for it by having to dig and pull some rather healthy weeds.  After removing the weeds, I apply leaves gathered from my and my neighbors’ yards.  There’s no point in putting mulch on healthy weeds because they’ll probably come up through it; lawn grass will die if you put leaves on it however.

A couple of weeks ago, I got some leaves from my neighbor and used them around the peach tree, mock orange, and daylilies in the back yard.  Since those leaves were raked up, they were mostly whole, not chopped.

I prefer to use my lawn mower with its bagging attachment to pick up and chop the leaves, and that is what I did tonight.  I applied the leaves under and around the shrubs and other perennials that grow on the west, north, and east sides of the house.

leaf mulch under (from top left) Japanese yew, dogwood, spirea, and Lamium maculatum ‘Chequers’ (dead nettle)

leaf mulch under (from top left) Japanese yew, dogwood, spirea, and Lamium maculatum ‘Chequers’ (dead nettle)

In areas like this, which tend to be shady and where I’ve kept a thick layer of leaves, very few weeds grow.  Most of these leaves came from a different neighbor’s oak tree; they seem to last a long time and to suppress weeds especially well.

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in garden cleanup and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weeding & Mulching

  1. Pingback: Freeze Warning | gardenblog2013

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

