Moving Flowers Back to the Office

It’s past time to move some houseplants to my office for the winter; last year I did it on November 6th.  Today, I moved sweet william, snapdragon, and dwarf pomegranate trees.

Last year, I tried leaving one window planter with sweet william outside while the other spent the winter in my office.  The plants left outside didn’t do so well; only one survived, and it hasn’t bloomed.  The plants that were in my office bloomed in the spring then mostly died back, but they seem to have re-seeded themselves.  The young plants have been growing all summer and were becoming crowded, so today I transplanted some into a third window planter.

original window planter with sweet william after I removed some plants

original window planter with sweet william after I removed some plants

Perhaps the larger plants in the first planter will bloom earlier.

window planter with newly transplanted sweet william

window planter with newly transplanted sweet william

Last spring, I planted snapdragon ‘rocket red’ in a large pot.  They bloomed much of the summer and are still blooming, so I decided to move them to my office and see if they would continue to bloom during the winter.  I cut off the snapdragon seed pods that developed over the summer and collected the seeds.  The product information doesn’t specify if they are a hybrid, so I wonder what I’ll get when I plant the seeds.

office plants:  sweet william, dwarf pomegranate, snapdragon, and prickly pear cactus

office plants:  sweet william, dwarf pomegranate, snapdragon, and prickly pear cactus

I also moved two of the dwarf pomegranate trees that I re-potted two days ago.  I don’t want to leave them in the stainless steel steam-table pan (I’ll use that when I plant vegetable seeds in the spring), so I need to find something else to collect excess water.  As you can see, I’m using a discarded lid from a plastic bin under the snapdragon pot.  My prickly pear cactus, which stays in the office all year, is behind the snapdragon flowers.

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in flower, houseplant, transplanting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Moving Flowers Back to the Office

  1. Pingback: Aphids | gardenblog2013

  2. Pingback: Sweet William Blooms | gardenblog2013

  3. Pingback: Morning Glory Flower | gardenblog2013

  4. Pingback: Shiso Flowers | gardenblog2013

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

