Cleaning the Gutters

One fall task that I dislike is cleaning leaves out of my house’s gutters, or eaves troughs, so rain and snow melt won’t pour off the roof and cause a flood in my basement.  I have gutter guards, in my case metal mesh that fits over the top of the gutters and keeps most of the leaves out of them.  However, some leaves, and especially the petioles from the compound leaves of my remaining honey locust tree, remain on the gutter guards and have to be removed manually at the end of autumn.  This is better than what I experienced before I had gutter guards, when I needed to clean the gutters once a week during the fall.

brush taped to a telescoping paint roller extension pole

brush taped to a telescoping paint roller extension pole

To clean the gutters, I use a step-ladder and a hand brush that I attach to a telescoping paint roller extension pole with masking tape.  The pole can be extended from four to eight feet (1.2 to 2.4 meters), allowing me to clean leaves off the gutter guards from only a few stepladder positions.

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in other and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

