Beef Roast

We have a tradition of eating roast beef on New Year’s Day.  I often cook the beef on my smoker, but this year I used the oven.  I wanted to cook the beef on a bed of vegetables, so I dug some carrots from the garden and used those with a stalk of celery and half an onion, all cut into chunks.

a bed of vegetables:  carrot, onion, and celery pieces

a bed of vegetables: carrot, onion, and celery pieces

I rubbed olive oil on the beef roast (Angus top round roast in this case) and we sprinkled salt, black pepper, marjoram, and thyme on it.  The zaatar marjoram was harvested from our garden in 2013.  I’ve tried to grow thyme in the past, but it never does well in my garden, so the thyme came from a store.

beef roast ready for the oven

beef roast ready for the oven

We started the roast at 400°F (204°C) for 15 minutes, then lowered the setting to 250°F (121°C) and cooked the roast until it reached 140°F (60°C) internal temperature.  After the roast was done, I used water to loosen the vegetables and drippings, strained the liquid into a frying pan, seasoned it further with more salt, pepper, and herbs (it was a bit bland), and thickened it with flour to make gravy.

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in harvest, herb, recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

