Vegetable & Herb Seeds Order

Yesterday, I placed my yearly order for garden seeds.  The past two years, I’ve ordered from Pinetree Garden Seeds & Accessories, but sometimes I like to order from another company so I can get seeds that Pinetree doesn’t carry.

That’s why I ordered from Park Seed this year.  I’ve ordered seeds from them in the past and have been pleased with a number of vegetable varieties that they carry.  Of course, many of those vegetable seeds are no longer available — it seems like when I find something I like, stores stop carrying it or manufacturers promptly discontinue it.  I’m especially disappointed that some of my favorite tomato seeds are missing from their online catalog.

Here is the list of the seeds that I ordered this year.  This doesn’t include everything that I’ll plant this year; I keep excess seeds in the refrigerator and have found that most will germinate well even several years after I bought them.

  • tomato Park’s season starter
  • tomato agro
  • tomato nectar
  • tomato Corleone
  • beet red ace
  • radish (daikon) April cross
  • carrot colorful collection
  • cabbage (Chinese or napa) kaboko
  • basil cinnamon
  • basil lime
  • basil Marseille
  • marjoram sweet
  • marjoram zaatar

I’ve planted agro tomatoes before; they are a highly productive paste type.  I’m hoping that Park’s season starter tomato will be as good as the Park’s early challenge tomato that I used to plant.  Nectar is a cherry tomato that’s supposed to be resistant to blight, so if we have that problem again this year we should at least get a few tomatoes.  I need to replace some paste varieties that I ran out of and can no longer find, so I picked Corleone as an interesting new variety to try.  I hope it’s good, as the seeds cost nearly a dollar each!

I’ve used red ace beet for some years and am quite happy with it.  I’ve also used April cross daikon before and although it isn’t my favorite, it’s the only daikon variety that Park Seeds carries.  The colorful carrot collection includes three varieties:  yaya, a stubby, early Nantes-type orange carrot; atomic red, which turns bright red when cooked and contains a lot of lycopene, which may help prevent cancer; and purple haze, which is purple on the outside (carrots originally were white or purple) but loses that color when cooked.

Kaboko is a new variety of chinese cabbage for me, but it sounds good, and I am finally running out of the one kilo variety that I bought from John Scheepers Kitchen Garden Seeds many years ago.

I also ordered some herbs.  I’ve planted both sweet (regular) and zaatar marjoram before, and if I ever get both to grow in the same year, I’ll compare the flavors.  I decided to try some new varieties of basil.  Cinnamon and lime basils are supposed to taste like their names, while Marseille basil is a French basil that is reputed to be very aromatic.

I have had an odd problem with Park Seeds with this order.  I was supposed to get a discount on my order.  When it didn’t show up, I tried contacting them by email and using their website’s chat function, but haven’t been able to get through yet.  Update:  They did give me the promised discount, although they never contacted me.  Also, their seeds that I’ve planted so far have been germinating well.

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in garden preparation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Vegetable & Herb Seeds Order

  1. Pingback: Planting More Herbs | gardenblog2013

  2. Pingback: Basil | gardenblog2013

  3. Pingback: Vegetable, Flower, and Herb Seeds Order | gardenblog2013

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

