Weeding & Thinning Basil

My ‘gecofure’ sweet basil seedlings have been growing and now have some true leaves.  It’s been a month since I planted them.

basil seedlings and a few weeds

basil seedlings and a few weeds

Today, I decided to remove the plastic wrap and pull the weeds that have been growing very well.  I also pulled out some of the basil seedlings, to reduce their number to what I think the pot can support.  One weed that I removed was a morning glory, the large plant that you can see at the bottom of the first photo.  It was pushing against the plastic wrap.

basil seedlings after weeding and thinning

basil seedlings after weeding and thinning

After weeding and thinning, I watered the basil seedlings using some water-soluble fertilizer.  Usually, I use a type of fertilizer that is higher in phosphorous than it is in nitrogen, as phosphorous promotes root growth and flowering.

a water-soluble fertilizer that is higher in phosphorous than in nitrogen

a water-soluble fertilizer that is higher in phosphorous than in nitrogen

However, I certainly don’t want my basil to flower (basil, like many herbs, becomes bitter if it matures enough to flower), so I decided to use a fertilizer that is high in nitrogen.  I used 1/4 teaspoon in a quart (almost a liter) of water.

a water-soluble fertilizer that is high in nitrogen

a water-soluble fertilizer that is high in nitrogen

In fact, after reading what the American Rose Society has to say about phosphorous, I wonder if I have been applying too much.  Rather ironic considering what it says on the first label.  I use the water-soluble fertilizers to make sure that the young seedlings have the nutrients they need when their root systems are still small.  It’s not a substitute for healthy soil with a balanced supply of available nutrients.

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in growing, herb and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weeding & Thinning Basil

  1. Pingback: Basil | gardenblog2013

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

