Planting Chard, Lettuce, Beets, Carrots, Onions, Mitsuba, and Cilantro

On Saturday, I repaired the frame of the third garden bed.  On Sunday, I dug the bed and turned over the soil, which took a long time as I had to remove a lot of tree roots.

Tonight, I finished preparing the bed for planting.  I used my new garden rake to level the soil, then raked the sides higher to keep rain from running out of the bed.  I added 3½ pounds (1.6 kg) of 5-10-10 fertilizer and raked it into the top of the soil.  This is a little less fertilizer than I used in garden bed number four because this bed is a little smaller.

After setting aside some space for the okra that I will transplant later, I planted the rest of the garden bed.  I planted chard ‘bright lights’ in two groups of four seeds, about ½ inch (12 mm) deep, and cilantro ‘large leaf’ and ‘calypso’ each in one group of nine seeds, about an inch (25 mm) deep.  I used to start cilantro indoors, but there’s no need to plant it early as we don’t want the leaves until the tomatoes are ripe.  I hope that it won’t flower (and thus make it unusable as an herb) as early as it has in the past.

I planted one row of lettuce ¼ inch (6 mm) deep and about an inch apart, and a row of beets ½ inch deep and also an inch apart.

I planted two rows of yellow onion sets.  I planted these deep (about 3 inches or 7 cm) and about 2 inches (5 cm) apart.  We plan to thin half or more of the onions and use them as scallions (green onions), and to leave the rest to grow until fall.

I planted a short row of mitsuba, a Japanese herb that I tried growing last year without success.  These were planted ¼ inch deep and about an inch apart.

Finally, I planted two rows of carrots.  Carrots must be planted shallowly, barely covered with soil, because they need light to germinate.  I tried to plant them about an inch apart but that’s difficult because the seeds are so small.  Lettuce seeds are also small.  I planted roughly equal amounts of four varieties of carrots, ‘Danvers half long’, ‘atomic red’, ‘purple haze’, and ‘yaya’.  The last three varieties are new to my garden.

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in garden preparation, planting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Planting Chard, Lettuce, Beets, Carrots, Onions, Mitsuba, and Cilantro

  1. Pingback: Rabbit Fence | gardenblog2013

  2. Pingback: Transplanting Okra | gardenblog2013

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

