Basil

I planted basil ‘gecofure’ in a pot at the end of January.  At the end of February, I thinned it to seven seedlings.  This variety of basil was bred to grow well in containers.

I’ve harvested this basil a few times over the past week or two, taking a handful of leaves each time.  I’ve been taking lower leaves from the basil plants; you can see stubs where I removed some of them.

basil 'gecofure' growing in a pot under artificial lighting

basil ‘gecofure’ growing in a pot under artificial lighting

The basil tastes good and seems to grow well this way, so perhaps I can grow basil year-around.  The ‘Marseille’ basil I ordered this year is a dwarf variety and should also be suitable for container gardening.

 

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in harvest, herb and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

