Transplanting Peppers, Eggplant, & Marigolds

Today, my daughter helped me transplant the pepper and eggplant seedlings into garden bed number one.  I originally planted the seeds on March 14th.  We followed much the same transplanting procedure as last year and the year before.  The peppers have been blooming for about a week, so they really need to go in the garden.  I have been putting the seedlings outside every day over the past week or so to acclimate them to real weather.

I had already marked where I wanted to transplant the peppers and eggplant last week when we transplanted the tomatoes.  We followed the same procedure, cutting X-shaped holes in the garden fabric and digging out a hole to fit the seedlings, but unlike the tomatoes, I didn’t plant them deeper than they were growing in their pots.  I also watered the newly transplanted peppers and eggplant with 18-24-16 water soluble fertilizer like I did with the tomatoes.

We moved the water jackets from the tomatoes to the newly transplanted seedlings to protect them from temperature swings, the wind, and intense sunlight.  I then placed tomato cages around the tomatoes, tying them to electric fence posts with twine string so they don’t fall over in the wind.  I need to make one more tomato cage, so I planned to leave a water jacket around one group of tomatoes; but as you can see in the photo, that water jacket fell over, and I decided to remove it rather than re-fill it.

pepper and eggplant seedlings in water jackets, tomatoes in cages, and marigolds in the middle of the tomatoes

pepper and eggplant seedlings in water jackets, tomatoes in cages, and marigolds in the middle of the tomatoes

We placed the eggplant closest to the tomatoes, the jalapeno at the front of the bed, and the other peppers in between.

I also transplanted two groups of marigolds between the tomatoes, in the middle of the garden bed.  I forgot to plant any marigold ‘golden guardian’ seeds this year, but some “volunteers” came up in this same bed this spring, so I saved some in a couple of pots before I dug up the soil to prepare for planting.  This marigold variety is supposed to repel or kill nematodes that feed on the roots of other plants, especially tomatoes.  I don’t know if these volunteers will be as effective as those grown from the seeds I bought, but then I also doubt I have a nematode problem.  In any case, they’re pretty to look at.

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in flower, transplanting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Transplanting Peppers, Eggplant, & Marigolds

  1. Pingback: Transplanting Okra | gardenblog2013

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

