More About Soil Block Molds

I tried using molds to make soil blocks for starting seeds for the first time this year.  I found that they worked well for the okra and some of the herbs that I planted in them, although a few herbs such as summer savory and marjoram still gave me trouble.

One thing that I need to do differently is to increase the space between the soil blocks so plant roots don’t grow from one block into another.  I also need to plant only one seed per block of large plants such as okra.

I just watched a TV program about starting seeds that included the use of soil blocks.  You can find the episode at growing a greener world.  They gave a lot of useful advice about planting seeds.

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in garden tools and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More About Soil Block Molds

  1. Pingback: New Garden Tool: Soil Block Molds | gardenblog2013

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

