Mutant Mustard

Two years ago, I discovered that I had a kale seedling with three seed leaves, or cotyledons, rather than the usual two.  I had another one show up this year.

When I was planting chard, carrots, mitsuba, beets, and lettuce in the fourth garden bed earlier this week, I discovered a “volunteer” seedling, probably red giant India mustard, that has four seed leaves.

mustard green seedling with four cotyledons

mustard green seedling with four cotyledons

I marked the plant with a stick and will watch how it grows.  The kale seedling from 2014 that had three seed leaves grew normally.

four seed leaves on a mustard green seedling

four seed leaves on a mustard green seedling

Kale and mustard are both members of the cabbage family, as you might guess when you see how similar their seeds and cotyledons are.  I wonder if plants in that family have a higher incidence of extra seed leaves.  I’ve never seen excess cotyledons on my other seedlings, although I’ve read online about them showing up in non-cabbage plants.

 

About brianbreczinski

work: chemist, NMR manager; hobbies: gardening, reading, photography, electronics, biking, woodworking
This entry was posted in growing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mutant Mustard

  1. Pingback: Seed Coats, Seed Leaves, True Leaves, & Mutant Kale | gardenblog2013

Questions, Comments, Advice? I'd love to hear from you!

